It's a place all right.

December 16, 2014 (Originally posted on Tumblr)

Top Billboard Song Charts of 2014 and Things: Part 2/4

Again, following the charts of 2014. This is the next chapter in the list thingy.



  1. Black Widow by Iggy Azalea and Rita Ora
    I don't know if I should have known better. I like the one part with the singing but the rap parts I'm not so into.
  2. Bang Bang by Jessie J, Ariana Grande, and Nicki Minaj
    BANG BANG INTO THE ROOM, SOMETHING SOMETHING SOMETHING JITTERBUG INTO MY BRAIN, NA NA YEAH YEAH YEAH TILL MY FEET DO THE SAME, WAKE ME UP BEFORE YOU GO GO BLAH BLAH BLAH Another song that reminds me of that song, but this time in melody. And that's really all I'll think of when I hear this. I can't say much else.
  3. Latch by Disclosure and Sam Smith
    The thing about this LOVER song is that LOVER it seems a bit LOVER too organized and LOVER single tempo. ...LOVER And I keep thinking he's BLUBBER talking about MySpace and BLAH BLAH does that even DA DA exist anymore? ...NEVER Long story short it sounds kinda neat but... very trapped. Maybe that's the point. ...NA NA Oh, and there's the random interjections throughout.
  4. Maps by Maroon 5
    Maroon 5 still exists and it's not just Adam Levine being on his own. Huh. Anyway this song kinda makes me want to listen to The Proclaimers. Oh, that song from before called Am I Wrong, that reminds me of this and vice versa, that's what I was thinking.
  5. Loyal by Chris Brown and Lil Wayne and a bunch of other rappers I guess
    First, if you are referring to "hoes" meaning promiscuous women, I have to say what did you expect? They tend to not be "loyal", being promiscuous. On the other hand, if you're referring to women in general, then you're generalizing. That's not good. Anyway it's a rap song about women and sex with women and drugs and Lil Wayne is on it you know the drill. Not my thing.
  6. Best Day of My Life by American Authors
    ROCK THAT BANJO, YEAH! It's a good song that sounds remotely bluegrass-y which I like and you can clap along to it and get your spirits up and jam hardcore.
  7. Habits (Stay High) by Tove Lo
    I'm not sure but this might be about using a lot of drugs to forget. Or being positive, but I doubt it. That's the thing about songs, you don't know unless the artist is just like, hey, this is what that means. I'm not sure. I'm also not entirely sure about this song. Not bad, but not really sticking out to me.
  8. Summer by Calvin Harris
    Well, this sounds like that Avicii type of EDM. I think I've heard better from this artist. Or maybe I'm just not into much EDM at all unless it's really fast paced. Who knows.
  9. Boom Clap by Charli MCMXCVIII
    Poop Crap the sound of my farting it goes nanananananana Katamari Damacy. Okay, now that I got that out of my system, my real opinion is that it just makes me want to listen to We Will Rock You. I think this song got popular with the help of The Fault In Our Stars movie.
  10. Drunk in Love by Beyonce and Jay-Z
    This must be the Dark World version of Crazy In Love, that song that also has Jay-Z and ends with "in Love". I like that one a lot more. It has these trumpets and then she goes uh oh banana and it's just loud and crazy like the love. Then Jay-Z talks about KFC insane. I may have misheard some things but my point stands.
  11. Anaconda by Nicki Minaj
    This song is... weird. For one thing it just completely samples Baby Got Back, specifically the beat and the line about anacondas wanting buns. Then she yells about saying screw the "skinny bitches" while trying to find the "bitches" that are more her speed or something then laughs really loudly. I think this was designed to be very obnoxious, and it works at least with that.
  12. Break Free by Ariana Grande and Zedd
    I've heard this song before, or at least something a lot like it. Maybe it's Zedd's doing. Lord Zedd from Power Rangers. The one dub of that Super Sentai show or whatever. You know I didn't even realize it was a dub until I saw an episode a lot later. Anyway it's club-ish music and it's... that, at least. I don't know.
  13. Bailando by Enrique Iglesias and some other people depending on the language
    Wait, how did Bailamos get back on the-- oh, wait, different song. Well, this one's still all right, but there's several versions so I don't know which to talk about specifically. Sean De Paul is on one of them. I think I like Bailamos better.
  14. Burn by Ellie Goulding
    Between the accent and the editing it sounds like she's going "bun bun bun bun bun". At least it's the kind of dance type song you can dance to. It gets stuck in your head sometimes.
  15. Wiggle by Jason Derulo and Snoop Dogg
    Wiggle wiggle wiggle, yeah. I can't take this song seriously. What are you going to do with that massive butt? Are you going to slap it? Sit on it? Be sat on by it? No, apparently all you can do is wiggle it just a little bit. It's a song about liking big butts. But I like that one where they can't lie about it a lot more.
  16. Rather Be by Clean Bandit and Jess Glynne
    I forgot I heard this one. I like how it sounds a bit like disco. I'd be okay with a new disco revolution, but I'd like to add that it should feature more instruments.
  17. Don't Tell Em by Jeremih and YG
    Buzzing on a bee. That seems to happen a lot in these modern rap songs. Anyway this is another rap or R&B or something I don't know. I'm not into it.
  18. Show Me by Kid Ink and Chris Brown
    BUZZING ON A BEE. Another thingy like the above. This isn't the genre I can get into here. That's all I've got.
  19. Wrecking Ball by Hannah Montana
    This only got popular because she was naked on a wrecking ball I think. Aside from that, well... Yeah, I don't know.
  20. Not a Bad Thing by Justin Timberlake
    Classic Justin I think. Hey, he got a successful solo career for a reason. Not my type of song but it works.
  21. Roar by Katy Perry
    She's got the eye of the tiger, it's the thrill of the fight, something something... I'll just say listen to Eye of the Tiger instead of this. That will get you pumped for real.
  22. Ain't It Fun by Paramore
    LIVIN IN THE REAL WORLD. Well, this song is pretty catchy to me at least. I think I like this one. I wasn't a fan of things like Misery Business but this one's got something to it. Don't go crying to your mama.
  23. The Man by Aloe Blacc
    He's the man, he's the man, he's the man, he's a mighty fine man, say it again, yeah. This one's great. Go ahead and tell everybody about this song. In fact, about this singer. He did the version of Wake Me Up (not before you go go) that Avicii remixed later on and that's actually a good song. No really go look it up. You'll find sometimes the remix doesn't help. That should have been the version higher on the charts, not the droning remix. And this song too for good measure.
  24. This is How We Roll by Florida Georgia Line and Luke Bryan
    Didn't these guys do that kinda rap song with modern pop country? I think. Anyway this is more modern pop country. Not my favorite genre by a long shot. There is country I like but it's not this.
  25. Classic by MKTO
    I thought a boy band made this one at first. It has that same backing track I swear I've heard briefly in some of those songs with like One Direction and that other group that's not One Direction. Maybe that's just modern beats. But at least it's different once you give it a bit of a listen. And it has a rapper so this is a real song. Or something.
And that's halfway through the list. Tune in next time when I do something else. Like the third part of this thing. I don't know.

(Back to blog index)